1. Skip to content
  • Hockey sticks

Activity Finder

Activity

Get Up & Go - Duston Sports Centre, Northampton

Location

Duston Sports Centre
Cotswold Avenue
Northampton
Northamptonshire
NN11ED
Meeting Point

Main reception

Contact Name
Main Reception
Telephone
01604 838333
Email
hmorgan@northamptonleisuretrust.org.uk
Next Session
Monday 17th December 2018 (12:15 - 13:15)
Sport / Physical Activity
50+ Classes, Chair Based Exercise, Falls Prevention
Skill Level
Beginner
Genders Accepted
Mixed
Organised By
Otago Northamptonshire
Cost
£3.00
The new Get Up & Go activity sessions will provide strength and balance classes for Older People. Get Up & Go sessions will consist of a minimum of a 24 week programme prescribed and delivered by qualified OTAGO Exercise trained instructors.

The Get Up & Go sessions are evidence based activity for the elderly that will support the development of core strength and balance. The research behind the OTAGO exercises throughout the classes is proven to:
- Reduce falls
- Reduce injury due to falls
- Improve balance & strength
- Improve ability to complete everyday tasks, increase stamina, improve mood, improve confidence and independence.

For more information contact your local centre for more information.

For access support we have worked with organisations that can provide travel to and from the Get Up & Go sessions. For more information on these please see below:

Northampton - Voluntary Impact - http://www.voluntaryimpact.org.uk/car-scheme/

What to Bring / Equipment: Ankle weights (if owned) not neccessary

This activity also runs on these dates/times:

  • Mon, 24 Dec 2018 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 31 Dec 2018 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 07 Jan 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 14 Jan 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 21 Jan 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 28 Jan 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 04 Feb 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 11 Feb 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 18 Feb 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 25 Feb 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 04 Mar 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 11 Mar 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 18 Mar 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Mon, 25 Mar 2019 (12:15 - 13:15)
  • Plus 3 more sessions...

The information contained in the Northamptonshire Sport activity finder has been provided by clubs. It is the responsibility of each club to ensure that information relating to their club remains up to date. Northamptonshire Sport is not responsible for the accuracy of information provided by clubs and accepts no liability relating to any information contained on the site. It is recommended that you contact a club directly in order to establish specific opportunities available.

Connect

01604 366 976

Latest Jobs

Casual Activity Assistant

Salary: 8.10 per hour

Closes: 12:00am - Wed 19th December, 2018

Casual Activity Supervisor

Salary: 10.89 per hour

Closes: 12:00am - Wed 19th December, 2018

Head of Boys recreational Gymnastics

Salary: £17,000 to £19,000 Dependent on experience and qualifications

Closes: 12:00am - Mon 31st December, 2018

We use cookies to enhance your experience. By continuing to visit this site you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more